Equator countries?

Print anything with Printful

The equator is an imaginary circle around the Earth, with a designation of 0° latitude. It passes through South America, Africa, Indonesia, and the Maldives, dividing countries such as Colombia, Uganda, and Kenya. Equatorial Guinea is not actually on the equator.

The equator is a large imaginary circle that people imagine drawn around the Earth equidistant from the north and south poles. It forms the basis from which latitude is calculated, with a designation of 0°. It is approximately 24,902 miles (40,076 km) long and intersects the continents of South America and Africa, and also passes through Indonesia. West of Africa, it passes through Sao Tome and Principe.

In Africa, the equator cuts near the center of the continent, from north to south. It passes through Gabon near the capital, Libreville, about a third of the way up the country from the northernmost border. The line also crosses the Republic of Congo, with a division of territory similar to that of Gabon.

In the Democratic Republic of the Congo, it passes south of Kisangani, with about a quarter of the country’s length to the north. In Uganda, the equator passes very close to Kampala, the capital. It passes north of Nairobi into Kenya, which it divides almost in half, and then through the southern tip of Somalia. The line also passes through the Maldives, an island nation in the Indian Ocean.

The equator cuts through South America near the northern tip of the continent. It passes just north of Quito in Ecuador, separates Colombia into about three-quarters north and one-third south, then passes through upper Brazil, passing through Macapá.

The line passes through several Indonesian islands in the Malay archipelago. It divides Sumatra roughly in half and then passes through Lingga or Linga Islands. The equator runs through the Indonesian part of Borneo, known as Kalimantan, Sulawesi and the Moluccas. To the east, it also passes through the Republic of Kiribati, also known as part of the Line Islands or Equatorial Islands. Equatorial Guinea and its islands, despite its name, are actually located about 3° N.

Protect your devices with Threat Protection by NordVPN

Skip to content