Medals at Olympics always?

Print anything with Printful

The Olympics standardized medals in 1908, with winners previously receiving paintings or wreaths. Gold medals are now 92.5% silver and winners have been awarded medals since 1908.

The Olympics are an international sporting event held every four years. Those of us who follow the event closely know that first place receives a gold medal, second place receives a silver medal, and third place receives a bronze medal. This, however, has not always been the case. Medals as prizes in the Olympics were only standardized in 1908. Prior to this date, winners did not always receive medals. Indeed, the winners of the 1900 Olympics in Paris received paintings. Wreaths of olive or pine were also awarded to winners in previous games. Since 1908, all winners of the Olympic Games have been awarded medals, but the composition of the medals has changed over time. Gold medals are no longer made entirely of gold. An Olympic gold medal, as of 2014, is 92.5% silver and plated with only 6 grams of gold./p>

Read more about the Olympics:

The tradition of the Olympic games began in ancient Greece, perhaps around 776 BC
Women first competed at the Olympic Games in Paris in 1900.
The Olympic flag has five rings, representing the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Australia; it is the symbol of friendship.

Protect your devices with Threat Protection by NordVPN

Skip to content