Ecuador: what to know?

Print anything with Printful

Ecuador is a democratic republic in South America, bordering Colombia, Peru, and the Pacific Ocean. Its territory includes the Galápagos Islands and is divided into three regions: coast, highlands, and east. The country has a rich history dating back to 3500 BC, including colonization by Spain and a battle for independence. Despite instability and financial problems, Ecuador’s government now provides a four-year term for the presidency and vice presidency, with the option for re-election.

Located in the western region of South America, the Republic of Ecuador borders Colombia, Peru and the Pacific Ocean. It is considered a democratic republic. The territory of Ecuador includes the Galápagos Islands. The country takes its name from the equator, as it actually straddles it. Its land covers more than 250,000 square kilometers (155.3 miles).

The capital of Ecuador is Quito. The city is located in the Sierra region and is at home in the province of Pichincha. Although it has capital status, Quito cannot claim to be the largest city. Guayaquil, from the province of Guayas, is number one in this regard.

Ecuador is geographically defined by three distinct regions: the coast, the highlands and the east. Coast encompasses the Pacific coast while the Highlands encompass the high-elevation land that runs vertically through the center of the country. The Andes mountain range is part of the Highlands region. The east consists largely of the Amazon rainforest, which takes up nearly half of the country’s total land. Additionally, there is the Insular Region, consisting of the Galápagos Islands; they are located to the west, approximately 620 miles (1,000 kilometers) off the coast of the republic.

Ecuador’s history dates back to 3500 BC. Since ancient times, it has been home to many civilizations, including the Valdivia, Quitus, and Canari civilizations. Each civilization was unique in its architecture and pottery. Each also had its own religion. Eventually, the Canari civilization was conquered by the Incas. Over time, the entire region became part of the Inca Empire.

In 1531, Spanish conquistadors arrived in Ecuador to see civil war raging throughout the Inca Empire. Eventually, Spain colonized the region. During the first Spanish colonization, the indigenous people of Ecuador suffered from diseases that killed many of them. Often the natives were forced to work for their settler landlords. However, it took nearly 300 years for the country to make a serious attempt at independence against Spain.

On October 9, 1820, Guayaquil became independent from Spain. However, the rest of the country has not shared the same fate. It took nearly two years for the rest of the country to gain its freedom. By May 24, 1822, Ecuador, as a whole, gained independence by defeating Spanish royalist forces in a battle near Quito. At this time, the country became part of the Republic of Gran Colombia; it did not enjoy the status of a separate republic until the 1830s.
Over the years, Ecuador has suffered its fair share of instability, due to leadership and territorial disputes. There was a good deal of turmoil leading up to the war. The country has also suffered financial problems due, in part, to the mismanagement of the country’s assets and debts. Although the country has had three presidents appointed through democratic elections, neither has managed to complete his full term.

Today, Ecuador’s government remains unstable. However, his government is set to provide a four-year term for the presidency and vice presidency. These deadlines must be notified at the same time. The same goes for members of Congress. A president can seek re-election after an interim term. However, lawmakers don’t have to wait to try for re-election.

Protect your devices with Threat Protection by NordVPN

Skip to content